Daily Archives: September 5, 2019

Fall 2019 Session 2

In Session 2 of our seminar, students heard about dosage forms, tying in information from the previous session. We described routes of admininstration and discussed how most drugs are weak acids or bases and small molecules. We then talked about exceptions to these rules.

Students often commented that the volume of the information was MORE than they were used to receiving! Welcome to pre-professional education!

Image result for student iconSo far, I have already learned a ton of new information regarding drugs. What amazed me about this was that there is so much knowledge out there to take in and that what I might think I already know about drugs really isn’t that deep nor is it all correct. For example, I take Acetaminophen at least once a week, however, it’s not an approved drug. After today’s session I was really amazed at all the different dosage forms. I had heard of many of them but learning the actual word that is used to define each form in the medical field, like enteral and parenteral, was really interesting. I also never knew that there were so many solid oral dosage forms like capsule, caplet and buccal tablet. I’ve only ever heard of each of them described as a pill but there are significant differences between each of them. I also find the chemistry behind drugs to be really crazy. Each drug ranks different when it comes to selectivity and that all has to do with the structure of the drug, along with its components. This makes me wonder if there could be drugs with almost the same structure and if there is one difference, would that make it a completely different drug? And would it react differently and serve a different purpose?  Learning all about different drugs and their dosage forms makes me really excited for the rest of the semester and to expand my knowledge around drugs.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconBefore this session, I only knew a few ways of drug dosage forms, which are taking it orally or rectally (eternal), and applying cream/lotion (topical). There are two more ways that medicine can be taken, such as inhaling through the mouth or nose and injections (parenteral). I also learned from this session the different travel path of these drugs that I didn’t know of. It’s interesting how the body system are interconnected and no matter where the medicine is applied or taken, it will eventually make its way towards circulation and exerts its effect. Medicine also exists in various form, for example: solid, oral and non oral liquids, and injectables. There are three out of many that caught my interest, which are the buccal and sublingual tablets and epidural. Originally, I thought of taking pill is as simple as swallow it and drink water. It’s intriguing how there is another way you can take a drug without swallowing it. For these two, I believe that you let the drug dissolved in your mouth in different locations; sublingual is under the tongue and buccal is around your cheek area. For epidural, I have a few questions about it. According to the notes, it says that it’d be injected through the dura mater of the spinal cord. I was wondering where can you locate the dura mater on your body and for what reason you might prefer to do epidural over the others.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconSession 2 was just as interesting as Session 1! I was intrigued by the fact that eye tattoos can only be fixed with skin grafts because of the deepness of the tattoos. I knew most of the dosage forms but did not know all of the different oral dosage forms (tablets, capsules, sublingual tablets, etc). I also knew some of the liquid dosages, but some were new to me. For example, I knew what a syrup was, but I didn’t know what a tincture or emulsion was. Finally, the parental dosage forms were a completely new concept to me. It finally showed me the different ways that drugs are injected into your bloodstream and which ways spread the drugs the fastest.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconSession 2 had an abundance of information about drug dosage forms that I did not know about. To begin, I found out that Humira (adalimumab) was bad for the immune system and will most likely arise cancers in ten years. This was alarming to hear about because I did not think that medications which are intended to relieve pain could result in worse consequences later on. Additionally, it was surprising to discover about syrups and elixirs. I had known that there were liquid oral medications, but it was interesting to know that there were medications made using drugs dissolved in sugar solution or alcohol and water. This makes me wonder about the purpose to having the drug dissolve in sugar solution or alcohol. Lastly, learning that medications that are taken orally have to be “first-passed” by the liver was new to me. I did not know that was why alcoholics were not allowed to be prescribed some types of drugs. Knowing that there was no way to lie about not drinking alcohol was an amusing finding too. It is astonishing to know that this information is not taught in medical school, but because of this information, I have definitely become more interested in this major. 

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconSo far I’m absolutely in love. I don’t have a lot of base pharmacy knowledge but this class is always the one I look forward to the most. I knew the general dosage forms but there was plenty of new terminology and facts about them that was brand new for me. With all the new information I’m getting every week I feel like I’m already miles ahead of those learning elsewhere and moving at a quicker pace. I’m already excited for new pharmacy classes like the one brought about all the wtf facts in this field. I wish this class was more often, or just longer.

Max Finkler

Image result for student iconSession 2 gave me a lot of new information about the different dosage forms of drugs and drug formulations. For one, I learned that oral drugs have to be dissolvable in the gut and not highly “first passed” because if the liver metabolizes a good portion of the drug then not enough of it will reach the target and act as you would need the drug to. I never knew that and I found it really interesting! As for the dosage forms, I knew the main categories already but I didn’t know the subcategories of them. Such as the different types of tablets, the dissolvable strips for solid oral dosage form and syrup, elixir, tincture and emulsion for the liquid dosage form.  It was interesting for me to learn all the different kinds of them. Now I know why my parents would give me the syrup when I was a kid instead of the pills for when I had a cold, because it was easier for me to drink a syrup than swallow a pill and the syrup is in a sugar solution so I would find it more appealing.

Jon Khong

Image result for student icon

Today’s session had me very engaged I have no clue what i was walking into. Im new to pharmaceutical science and im not an expert on drugs , But this is by far the class that has has my most attention its very interesting  and always has me engaged. I feel im learning more and more every session like I didn’t even realize there was multiple ways  for a drug to enter your body or that you could be allergic to certain drugs and not know there fatal until its almost too late.

Unidentfied Student

Image result for student icon

After the second week I’m continuing to enjoy the course. Today’s seminar was filled with information but the biggest thing I took away was the correct medical terms for items that the common person would call “a pill” but know I could distinguish that that term doesn’t actually exist rather there are tablets, capsules and etc. Also there are many different ways of putting a drug into the body including enteral, parenteral, inhalation, and topical. Enteral enter the body orally or rectally and enter GI tract and blood stream. Parenteral enter the body via injection and do not pass through the GI tract, proceed directly into circulation. Inhalation enter through mouth and nose, into the respiratory system and then blood stream. Topical applied to skin or mucous membranes to enter circulation. Lastly I’m glad we are learning this information now and that I don’t have to wait until graduate school to learn this. I find it both interesting and relevant information to my daily life by learning about over the counter medication. 

Katelyn Luther

Image result for student iconSession 2 was very informal and provided me with lots of new information regarding dosage forms. While I knew the general forms, I was unaware of how many subcategories there are and how each has a specialized function in the body. This makes me excited to learn more because it reassured how little I know and how vast the world of drugs is. I learned the term “Daltons” which is used to measure the size of a drug compound molecule. I’m curious how the size of a drug compound correlates to the livers ability to metabolize it, making the drug highly “first passed” or not. I’m also curious about how the Daltons of compounds vary between the different dosage forms. These have been an exciting first two sessions and I look forward to expanding my knowledge!

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconI found all of the dosage forms very interesting because I recognized all of the forms, but I never realized how many there really were! You can take/use a drug in so many different ways and each way will have a different effect on your body. For example, you can take a drug enterally, which means you take it orally or rectally, allowing the drug to enter the GI tract and be absorbed into the bloodstream. I also found it interesting that drugs have different selectiveness. I always thought that a drug worked on almost your entire body, but that’s not always the case. Some drugs a very selective and only work in specific places or on specific things in your body. Or, a drug can be nonselective, meaning they can work on the entire body. I think this is because of the fact that some drugs bind to receptors found all over your body? Drugs can also be in the middle, like when some drugs just target any area of inflammation.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe information from session two answered many questions I had about how drugs work in the body. I had already known of many different drug dosage forms, but I didn’t know what each one was actually called. It was interesting to be able to identify each drug form and the associated name. Two completely new ones I learned about were in the liquid dosage form of elixir and tincture. I had not known that drugs were sometimes prepared in alcohol, considering how alcohol can affect many medications. I enjoyed learning some insight about the bodily processing of drugs, such as “first passed” drugs and how the liver metabolizes most of the drug, only allowing some into circulation. I was intrigued by how people with altered liver function, such as an alcoholic, can be seriously harmed by these drugs because of the metabolization process that would be lacking in their liver. It is concerning that there is a lack of this knowledge, since it is important to understand exactly how drugs will affect the specific patient so that they can get optimal care. I feel that having this information now is a huge bonus, especially because learning about it early on allows us to apply the knowledge as we get a more in-depth understanding of pharmaceutical sciences. Learning information that is not usually taught until pharmacy school and at times, not even taught in medical school gives us an upper hand to face challenges ahead. I think that this information not only gives us get a head start on schooling, but it also helps give us more information that we will be able to utilize in our future career fields. Additionally, the information we obtain through these seminars will give us more time to fully understand and implement it into the work and research we do over the next few years. It is so important for medical personnel to understand the drugs that they are prescribing, administering and/or working with. In just two sessions, I have learned a great deal and grasped a better understanding of the interaction between drugs and the human body.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconAfter a coworker/friend recommended this class to me, I was very excited, but also didn’t know what to expect. This is my first pharmaceutical science class ever, but have already learned so much in one session. I enjoyed learning about how different drugs inhibit bodily functions and also do not heal us, but alter functions. It was interesting to hear about how testing on animals is important because so many people do not support animal testing. If they were to know the importance of it, I feel as if they would understand. Scientist are not doing it to hurt anyone, but to help people. The ethics behind it show that it is in our best interest. Overall, I didn’t expect the DEA to be run by people in politics. I feel as if this hurts many people because the DEA puts their political agenda before putting in people’s pain. They have the power to make changes to help heal people rather than continue to make their lives harder. I’ve already started sharing what I’ve learned in class to my family. This includes proper terminology when talking about drugs, aka, no brand names. They mainly enjoyed how some drugs are grandfathered in and don’t need FDA approval.

A majority of the content in class is new to me, so I have been enjoying soaking up so much pharmaceutical knowledge! What I found particularly interesting today was learning that none of the pigments used by tattoo parlors have been approved by the FDA. Furthermore, the fact that a majority of those pigments are also used on cars at body shops. Realizing how poorly regulated pigments are, it became clear why people who choose to get their eyebrows microbladed face a high risk of permanent skin damage. Such horrible outcomes from unregulated substances also points to how important and necessary the FDA is in protecting the public.

Olivia Ann Robida

Image result for student icon

The ability for a drug to be so small yet so effective didn’t interest me until after I looked over my notes. I assumed all drugs were as complex as proteins at the molecular level, but learning that Aspirin was 180D while biologics are in the 100 kD range, was something I didn’t expect. When I really thought about it, a molecule’s size doesn’t matter when it is fitting into a certain receptor, but it is still crazy. Such a small amount of a simple molecule can have effects on the whole body.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconSession 2 focused on the classification and the differences of dosage forms, and how drugs enter the body. Some new vocabulary that the session started with is the types of dosage forms and what they are. I now know that Topical is a treatment that is applied to the skin or mucous membranes, and Parenteral in an injection. This usually means that Topical is the slowest treatment and Parenteral is the quickest. The session then went on to explain the different type of medicine that I will see in each classification. For example, Enteral includes anything from tablets, to capsules, to caplets. But the biggest thing I’ve learned in that session, is the functions that the liver and stomach have with drugs. I knew that the liver can “kick out” a foreign drug, but I never knew how drugs can get past it. But with the bodily functions of “first-passed” and “enterohepatically circulated,” I feel more educated on that topic. Speaking of being more educated, one small highlight which I enjoy is being “scientifically knowledgeable,” and correcting people when they say that they hate taking pills.

How will this session help me in the long run? It helped build my scientific vocabulary while having a better understanding of drugs and how they enter the body. So far, I’m having fun in the class, especially since I finally figured out how to use PollEverywhere, so I can stop panicking about that. Although most of this material is new to me, I’m understanding what is being told and I’m glad that I get to know this material now instead of later.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe multitude of dosage forms for drugs was also interesting, as I did not realize how many delivery methods for drugs there are. I was familiar with common dosage forms, such as a tablet, but had never heard of others, like sublingual and buccal tablets. I also never considered before why it is necessary to have different types of dosage forms for different drugs. Understanding now that the way the body processes a drug has an effect on the form it can be given in, this makes more sense to me. For example, a drug that isn’t small enough to cross intestinal membranes can not be given orally or it will not be absorbed into the bloodstream for use. I am looking forward to making more connections such as these in coming seminars!

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconI was interested in knowing all of the dosage forms in this seminar. The one that was new to me was the buccal tablet, which I have never heard of it. I was wondering if in the cheek, there must have systemic arteries or veins that rapidly distribute the drugs into the circulation for therapeutic effects, or if this is close to our brain in order to send signals pretty fast. This information that I get early access to is very useful and prepares me for the professional program in the future. It doesn’t matter if there is a right time to know all of this information, but memorizing it at any certain points will help. Especially, there are so many routes of administration of drugs into our bodies. The administered route plays an important part in saving the patients’ life. For example, IV injection, or intravenous, will be pretty fast in distributing the drugs to the patient bloodstream. If the wrong drug is administered, it completely turns to another side, or it can accidentally cause serious toxicity and be irreversible, or even life-threatening. Importantly, once the drug is distributed throughout the body and it is hard to decontaminate that out of the patient’s circulation.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe access we have to all the various types of available dosage forms is incredible. When many think of taking specific prescription drugs they think of intaking them orally. However, they can be received in forms of enteral (orally or rectally), parenteral (via injection), inhalational (mouth or nose), or topical (skin or mucous membranes). It is most common in America to take drugs orally however; it is not the most effective way for the efficacy of the drug. Given the access we have to the copious amounts of dosage forms, we should be taking full advantage of the performance of the drug. Drugs can be administered in the form of a capsule, tablet, caplet, dissolvable strip, syrup, elixir, tincture, lotion, cream, and paste. Some forms in which specific drugs can be taken are more effective than others and this makes a big difference in the efficacy of the drug as well. Personally, I thought my knowledge on the different types of dosage forms was adequate given this is my first pharmaceutical sciences class however, after this seminar I felt as if I had learned a whole new range of dosage forms that I now have the opportunity to research further and expand my knowledge. To have access to this information so early on sets you apart from the rest when applying for pharmacy school, and gives you the opportunity to do research of your own to get more background and learn about the profession you want to acquire.

Kristen Amalie Root

Image result for student iconI have recognized almost all of the forms of dosage, especially the ones that are taken orally and by inhalation. I had asthma during my grade school years so I know what that is like. Although, I learned new things about them such as their types, what they do, and what they are made of. Examples are such with the Buccal tablets and the Sublingual tablets for solid oral dosages. Also, I didn’t realize that insufflation was a method of intaking medicinal drugs. With this information, I feel that I still have much to learn and that I should study them from time to time throughout the semester so that I’ll remember them for the Pharmacy school/path.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconIn session 2, the primary focus was on the different types of dosage forms. I was well aware of the well-known forms, like the enteral form and topical form. However, I was not aware that there were so many other types, like the parenteral and inhalational forms. All of this new pharmaceutical knowledge and vocabulary are so new to me, and super interesting! It surprised me that I was not aware of the different dosage forms. I used to think that most, if not all drugs, were taken orally. Now that I am aware of this, I understand why it is this way. Some people cannot just swallow a tablet, and need other forms of the dose. Some people can inhale their drug better than they can swallow it. Having multiple drug dosages helps everyone get the drugs that they need to be healthy. I am grateful to have early access to this information because it has allowed me to know that I do want to study pharmaceutical science, and want to keep learning and extending my knowledge.

Amaiah A Cruz

Image result for student iconIn this session, we engaged in a discussion about magical medical dosage forms that have transformed the way humans consume medication. Due to biological aspects of our bodies, some routes are restricted and another may be of great use. It was very interesting to discuss the parenteral routes of medicine that have been created to insert our bloodstream directly instead of slow acting.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconToday’s lecture gave me a more in-depth understanding of topics that I was previously familiar with. I already knew all of the dosage forms discussed because I work in a pharmacy and I took the ExCPT this past May, but it was helpful to review. My favorite part of the lecture was learning the reason why some drugs cannot be consumed orally. The terms “first-passed” and “enterohepatically circulated” were new to me and it was very interesting to learn about the liver’s role in greater detail.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThere are numerous kinds of dosage forms for drugs that make certain drugs interact differently with the human body. Now that I have learned the different forms that drugs can come in, I understand why there are so many options available on the market. I learned that injection drugs, given in the parenteral form, give instant results and may help in dire situations, such as an allergic reaction. The availability of different drug forms gives people a wide selection of drugs to pick from. For example, birth control can come in tablet, patch, or injection form. If someone was not able to take birth control orally they have the option of taking the medication through patch or injection. Different drug forms give people access to medication they may need in multitudes of forms, so if they have a complication with one form of drug, they can try to use an alternative form of medication.

Everything we are learning in class is relatively new to me, but I am excited to be learning these new topics. Some of the topics are confusing right now and there are some topics that I am confused about, but I am happy I have access to this information now rather than later. As Professor Schnellmann said, we will have to have this information later in life and we will be expected to know these topics.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconI am definitely enjoying this course so far! I don’t know how you manage to lecture so much information in under an hour but you do it well and it is impressive. We’ve only had 2 sessions and the material has already helped me in my other PCOL classes which was my main goal for attending this seminar. My favorite part so far has been hearing about all the pseudo products such as collagen lotion due to its molecular size.

From session 2, I did know about a lot of the dosage forms already but I found the strip form particularly interesting. I agree with you on a strip form having huge potential and I’m shocked its not more prevalent in the field already. You would think that it would be much cheaper to manufacture and easy to deal with over all for the medical professionals and patients.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThis second seminar has expanded my knowledge about drugs even more. Prior to the start of the seminar, I only knew about tablets, capsules, and liquid forms of drugs. However, I was made aware that drugs can be taken in a different variety of ways such as topical or parenteral. Additionally, the large variety that dosage forms can come in surprised me. I did not know dosage forms such as buccal tablet, sublingual tablet, or patches even existed as an option to take a drug. I also did not realize that the liver can metabolize a drug; thus, making me be exposed to the term “first-passed”. In addition to that, I also heard the term “enterohepatically circulated” for the first time. It surprised me drugs cannot be taken orally if either of these things take place. Lastly, I found that all pigments in tattoo dyes are not FDA approved and is an industrial ink that could potentially be used in car shops. It was also disturbing what could happen to the skin during microblading if the skin reacts badly to the ink and that the only way to remove the dye and stop the reactions is to do skin grafts. Overall, being able to have access to this information now gives me a better understanding of some things that pharmacists need to know.

Ashley N Rogers

Image result for student iconI have really enjoyed the lecture so far! I knew all of the dosage forms that were discussed in class. I think the most interesting dosage form is under the tongue as it gets straight into the bloodstream. I thought the process in which drugs are absorbed in the body was interesting.

Kyle Andrew Goveia

Image result for student iconIt was interesting to learn how and why there are so many different dosage forms for drugs. Although both of my parents work in the healthcare system, they never explained to me why some drugs are taken orally while others were not. What was especially interesting to me about this seminar was the explanation for why people are allergic to some drugs. I have been told that I am allergic to certain fabrics and fragrance but now I wonder if I’m not really allergic at all, but I am just reacting to a protein instead. The difference between biologics and drugs small molecules have also helped me understand why some drugs are sold over the counter and others you need a prescription to use. A drug like aspirin is too small for people to be allergic too while drugs like penicillin need to be administered by a healthcare professional.

I know that of course, all drugs have different molecular structures and if you change one part of a drug you could risk changing the drug completely. But with over the counter medication, drug companies must patent the formula of the drugs they create and once that patent expires they must create a new formula. That is why there are so many different brands for ibuprofen, because they all have a slightly different formula from each other. My question is, do biologics have to  go through a similar process or is it too risky to change those drugs because it might change the effect humans react to them.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe session on dosage forms is truly eye-expanding! It was great to learn how many forms of drug delivery is possible and how they serve a specific purpose based on certain conditions, such as when a drug cannot be taken orally since it would not pass the gastrointestinal system, other formulations are required for it be introduced parenterally, through inhalation, or topically.

I am also interested in learning more about how biological drugs (proteins or other large molecules) with low diffusion possibility enter cells. Does it only work with highly selective receptor binding or are drugs designed in such a manner that could “disguise” the molecules and carry it intracellularly?

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconIn session 2, the primary focus was on the different types of dosage forms. I was well aware of the well-known forms, like the enteral form and topical form. However, I was not aware that there were so many other types, like the parenteral and inhalational forms. All of this new pharmaceutical knowledge and vocabulary are so new to me, and super interesting! It surprised me that I was not aware of the different dosage forms. I used to think that most, if not all drugs, were taken orally. Now that I am aware of this, I understand why it is this way. Some people cannot just swallow a tablet, and need other forms of the dose. Some people can inhale their drug better than they can swallow it. Having multiple drug dosages helps everyone get the drugs that they need to be healthy. I am grateful to have early access to this information because it has allowed me to know that I do want to study pharmaceutical science, and want to keep learning and extending my knowledge.

Jayden Zhu

Image result for student iconOnly after two sessions of this class I have learned so much. I knew that drugs came in different forms, but did not realize how many forms of drugs there are and how many ways you can deliver drugs to the body. I am so glad that I am being exposed to pharmaceutical terms now rather than later. I found it very interesting how the drugs move through the body and how important the liver is to the processing of the drug. I am enjoying this class a lot and look forward to learning new things every time.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconWednesdays discussion gave me a closer look into the way drugs are administered. I already was aware of the dosage forms because I acquired my medical assisting certification in high school, and drug dosage was apart of the curriculum. But, I was not aware of the composition of certain drug dosage forms; an example being the gelatin casing used for capsules. I also was not aware of why certain drugs are delivered in a specific way. I knew the obvious ones such as the need to immediately be administered to sights such as the vein or inhaled to directly go to the lungs. But, I did not know that certain drugs could be destroyed by the digestion system or the liver and that’s why they are engineered or given a certain way. I now think that this will aid me in understanding why drugs are prescribed a certain way and more importantly what the drug does once it enters the body. I am extremely excited to continue my learning of medicine on a much higher level than just medical assisting!

Angel Maria Harrison

Image result for student iconSo far, this has been an extremely informative course, and I have gained a lot of knowledge about dosage forms. Before this course, I had a basic knowledge of some of the dosage forms. The main forms I knew of were eternal (oral or rectal), inhalation, and topical. The parenteral form was the most surprising type of dosage because it is processed directly through circulation. The reason this was the most surprising is because I did not really ever stop to think about the effects that dosage form entrances would have on the body. I am thrilled to get to be a part of this program and to learn all of this information early on. I think it will be extremely beneficial as I am preparing for pharmacy school. Over the next several weeks, I will be looking at all of the supplemental information that is on D2L. It is never too early to start preparing!

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe biggest takeaway from this seminar was the comment about how lotions and creams that have collagen in them to help the skin were a load of garbage since collagen is too large of a compound to cross through the skin. It was also cool to get a peak into a real world application, when we learned that nitroglycerin would be prescribed for angina, and that it would take effect in a span of two minutes. By far the best joke of the day I heard on the day of the seminar was when we were discussing insufflation, and the comment was made that it was essentially snorting, but it was the proper term since snorting has a negative connotation.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconSession 2 started off with something that blew my mind – tattoo ink is not FDA approved and it is also used in car parts. I was familiar with a lot of the dosage forms, however, it never occurred to me that only certain drugs can be in specific dosage forms because of their complex molecule makeup. It was also very interesting to learn that aspirin is one of the smallest drugs available on the market. Overall, I was very intrigued during session 2 and can’t wait to learn more!

Alley Haley Adams

I had no idea that not a single pigment used in tattoo dyes were approved by the FDA. I also did not realize how many types of dosage forms there were. I knew that the tissue on your cheek and under the tongue could dissolve and absorb a drug into your blood, but I have never heard of the buccal and sublingual tablets before and those were very interesting to me. I had asthma all throughout elementary school, and I used an inhaler and nebulizer pretty often, so I understand all of that. I did find it interesting that there is an inhalation drug to treat asthma and that was new information to me. All of this information has been so helpful already and I look forward to the next session.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconThe dosage forms lecture was one that I didn’t know I knew some much about already. Although I haven’t taken drugs in all of these forms, previous classes and family members have exposed me to them. However, under the eternal form, I did not know that there were rectal drugs. I understand that they make someone uncomfortable and for our US society it is awkward, but if it is the best method for medication, why not take that drug rectally? It seems that this “taboo” dosage form would benefit more people.

It seems concerning that none of the ink for tattoos is FDA approved. Since many people have tattoos, the FDA should be making sure that it is safe. I know that some people are allergic to a type of red ink, and if there were regulations, maybe it would be easier for people to know if they’re allergic or not. My mom has also talked to me about micro-blading, and I am now proud to say that I explained how this beauty-fad doesn’t last and has horrible consequences.

Overall, the different forms of drug dosage is important for the different functions of the body and for finding what receptors they need to block/activate. Having the pill that tells the doctor when a patient takes it is also important to have because it helps build better trust with treatment.

Unidentified Student

Image result for student iconI did not know that there were so dosage forms available. I did not know about buccal tablets and all the different forms of injectables and oral liquids. It was amazing to learn about all the different forms of drug dosage and how they are different from the other that can be taken enterally, parenterally, inhalationally, or topically.  The information from this seminar will definitely be beneficial in the future. It will help determine the best type of what to administer the drug depending on the patient. The early access is fantastic I am now more informed than I was the day before and I love that! I know that there is still so much to learn and I can’t wait!

Unidentified Student